As one approaches the old picturesque village of Lija one cannot miss the monumental structure called the Belvedere, or as better known, It-Torri ta’ Ħal-Lija. The Belvedere was originally built by architect Giuseppe Bonavia in 1857 as a garden folly for the family of Marquis Depiro who owned a house called Villa Gourgion, located on the right hand side of the Parish church as one faces it.  It was surrounded by orange groves and a large garden, part of which, close to the house, exist up to this very day. The conservation of this monument, now in a more urbanised context, is important to safeguard its value and significance.